Welcome to Simonburn

This timeless village of sash-windowed stone cottages lies midway between Hexham and Bellingham. It has a picturesque village green and the surrounding houses were used as location for TV mini-series of the Catherine Cookson novels.

Although St Mungo’s Church dates back to Saxon times the current building is 13th century. The Village Shop and Tearooms are open all year.

At the south-west corner of the green your attention is immediately arrested by a massive stone lych-gate piercing the moss-grown churchyard wall.  It was erected in the 19th century in memory of Lancelot JH Allgood of Nunwick, and reputed to be one of the best in the county; it is a Grade II Listed Building.  At its side is a much older mounting-block, and along the wall is a charming row of white phlox and other country flowers.

It had once an old Castle dating back to 1136 but all that is left is a small mound in the ground. Nearby is Nunwick Hall which is a privately owned 18th-century Grade II* listed building.


Simonburn Parish Council was first formed in 1894 by an Act of Parliament, and The Act granted the newly created civil parish councils the specific power to appoint a “Clerk of the Council”.  Parish council roles were strengthened under the 1972 Local Government Act and the functions of parish, community and town councils have increased immeasurably since. Simonburn Parish Council has six councillors who are elected for a 4-year term.

There are at least four Council Meetings per annum, usually on the second Wednesday in the months of March, May, September and December.  The Annual Meeting of the Parish is held in May and follows the Annual Meeting of the Parish.

Today Simonburn has a population of 192 living in 84 households.